SMECO newsletter

volume 66 - issue 6 - June 2016

SMECO honors math and science teachers

SMECO and the school systems of Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary's counties recently honored 17 local educators for their accomplishments in the fields of mathematics and science. Nine math teachers and eight science teachers from schools in the three counties received awards.

Over the past 25 years, SMECO has recognized more than 330 local math and science teachers.

"Our gifted honorees understand that their job is about more than teaching mathematics and science. It's about teaching things like character, imagination, and resilience. They display a commitment to classroom excellence and are helping to ensure that Southern Maryland schools prepare the next generation," said Austin J. Slater, Jr., SMECO president and CEO.

Outstanding Mathematics Teachers

Calvert County:

Michelle Bell, Patuxent High School; Jennifer Murphy, Mill Creek Middle School; and Wenique Brooks, St. Leonard Elementary School

Charles County:
Charles County Outstanding Mathematics Teachers

David Wood, Milton Somers Middle School; Adam Frisbee, Thomas Stone High School; and Linda Tavares, Arthur Middleton Elementary School

St. Mary's County:
St. Mary's County Outstanding Mathematics Teachers

Brian Weisner, Great Mills High School; Jodi Tenney, Leonardtown Middle School; and Melissa Bean, Benjamin Banneker Elementary School

Outstanding Science Teachers

Calvert County:
Calvert County Outstanding Science Teachers

Deborah Heyes, Huntingotwn High School; Kelli Short, Barstow Elementary School; and Lorraine Dunigan, Patuxent High School

Charles County:
Charles County Outstanding Science Teachers

Amy Arnold, Milton Somers Middle School; Margo Barbone, Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary School; and Michelle Schoenbauer, La Plata High School

St. Mary's County:
St. Mary's County Outstanding Science Teachers

Rebecca Wait, Chopticon High School and Christi Wenk, Benjamin Banneker Elementary School