SMECO newsletter

volume 65 - issue 10 - october 2015

SMECO holds 77th annual members' meeting

SMECO held its 77th Annual Meeting on September 2, 2015, at the Blue Crabs Regency Furniture Stadium in Waldorf. The event allows customer-members the opportunity to vote for SMECO members to serve on the Co-op’s Board of Directors.

Registration ran from 4 to 7 p.m. The Cooperative had 1,213 members register to vote, with 394 of them voting by absentee mail-in ballot. The following SMECO members were elected to serve on SMECO’s Board for three years: Samuel "Jack" Hammett in Calvert County; Fern G. Brown and Kenneth L. Dyson in Charles County; and W. Rayner Blair III and William R. Cullins III in St. Mary’s County. Customer-members also voted to accept several bylaw amendments.

The Sara Gray Band performed a one-hour set and the Southern Mix Chorus, which performed the national anthem. The ROTC students from La Plata High School and St. Charles High School presented the colors and John Briscoe, pastor of Restoration Free Gospel Church in Lexington Park, led the invocation.

Members who registered to vote were eligible to win one of 50 electric bill credits of $50 each. In addition, winners of 15 cash prizes of $100 each and a well-traveled SMECO vehicle were randomly selected from the registered members in attendance. Elaine Morgan of Hollywood won the SMECO vehicle, a four-door 2004 Chevy Malibu, with AM/FM radio, air conditioning, and 104,000 miles.