SMECO newsletter

volume 65 - issue 4 - april 2015

SMECO sponsors 26th annual High School Computer Bowl

The Southern Maryland High School Computer Bowl held its 26th annual competition on March 7 at North Point High School in Waldorf. This year's Computer Bowl event featured 80 young computer experts in a test of their coding skills and technical knowledge. Sponsors for the annual competition are SMECO, the College of Southern Maryland, Booz Allen Hamilton, and the public school systems of Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary's counties.

Electric utilities like SMECO depend heavily on computer equipment to help keep the lights on for their customers. Utilities also depend on technology experts who know how to create and maintain software programs that ensure that all computerized systems run efficiently. Encouraging the programmers of tomorrow is the goal of the Southern Maryland High School Computer Bowl.

Twenty teams from nine high schools in Southern Maryland faced the challenging literacy and programming tests in the Computer Bowl. In the first round of the competition, students took a written test of their knowledge of computer history, hardware, and software. In the second round, teams of three to four students created computer programs to solve specific problems, using programming languages such as Java and Visual Basic. Charles County Public Schools equipped each team with two laptops for the programming portion of the competition.

Winners received plaques and trophies. SMECO awarded gift cards to the top four teams. The College of Southern Maryland also provided the first-place winners with performance awards.

First-place team, Huntingtown High School

First-place winners, from Northern High School, are (from left) team members team members Matthew Heide, Erin Estes, Amanda Spyropoulos, and Michael Lindsey and coach Victoria Longsworth.

Second-place team, Great Mills High School

Second-place winners, from Huntingtown High School, are (from left) team member James Yoe, coach Tom Currier, and team members J.T. Ottenwaelder, Tommy Nguyen, and Tristan Perry.

Third-place team, Patuxent High School

Third-place winners, from La Plata High School, are (from left) coach Richard Williams and team members Cody McGinnis, Aaron Hipkins, Douglas Kalmus, and Reid Hancock.