SMECO STEM Awards honor local educators for their leadership in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics, including career and technology education.

The Co-op works with the school systems of Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s counties to select deserving teachers for the awards. Teachers are chosen for their outstanding performance in the areas of creativity, rapport with students, enthusiasm for teaching, professionalism, and innovative teaching methods. Over the past 29 years, SMECO has recognized almost 420 local math and science teachers.

SMECO’s Outstanding Mathematics, Science, and STEM Teachers of the Year for 2020 are listed below.

Calvert County

  • Kristen Craft, Calvert High School
  • Kimberly Hawkins, Patuxent High School
  • Jessica Minnich, Windy Hill Middle School
  • John Phillips, Northern Middle School
  • Stacey Read, Mill Creek Middle School
  • John Taylor III, Patuxent Appeal Campus
  • Willanette Thomas-Lohr, Huntingtown Elementary School
  • Shane Wines, Calvert High School

Charles County

  • Laura Buzzell, Lackey High School
  • Lolita Cariaso Kiorpes, North Point High School
  • Donna Day, Theodore Davis Middle School
  • Victoria Farrell, Piccowaxen Middle School
  • Nicole Joly-O'Brien, JC Parks Elementary School
  • Deanna Wheeler, JC Parks Elementary School

Prince George’s County

  • Danita Matthews, Gwynn Park High School

St. Mary’s County

  • Lynsey Hayden, Dynard Elementary School
  • Heather McLearen, Chesapeake Public Charter School
  • Dorothy Nelson, Spring Ridge Middle School
  • Kristen Pearce, Esperanza Middle School
  • Lindsey Toothacker, Benjamin Banneker Elementary School

SMECO Energy Rates

Helpful Tips

SMECO Spotlights