Annual Members’ Meeting

Every year, SMECO conducts its members’ meeting for the purpose of electing directors and voting on bylaw changes. All members have the right to vote.


In accordance with SMECO’s bylaws, only mailed ballots will be counted.

  • All voting will be conducted by mail; there will be no on-site voting at the annual meeting.
  • When you receive your Annual Meeting packet, please complete and sign the enclosed ballot.
  • Vote for candidates in all three counties.
  • Return your ballot using the enclosed postage-paid envelope.
  • Ballots must be received in the mail by August 22.
  • Voting results will be announced at the meeting.
  • Three prize winners will be selected at random every weekday from the ballots returned by mail August 1–16. If you are one of the lucky winners, SMECO will credit $50 to your electric bill.


The annual meeting is a business meeting only. Ballots cast by mail will be included to make a quorum of 500. Only 50 members are required to attend the meeting in person to make a quorum.

  • Location: SMECO Headquarters Auditorium
    15035 Burnt Store Road, Hughesville, MD 20637
  • Date: August 29, 2018
  • Time: 6 p.m.

Any customer who has questions or comments is encouraged to contact SMECO at any time. Just send an e-mail or call 1-888-440-3311.

Candidates and Bylaw Changes:

Download the full Notice of Annual Meeting (PDF) to read the biographies of the Board candidates and to review the proposed bylaw changes.

About SMECO’s annual meeting:

An electric cooperative is shaped by the communities it serves.

SMECO has 15 directors, and every year, five directors are elected to three-year terms.

The cooperative holds an annual meeting for SMECO members to elect the men and women who serve on the Board of Directors. 

The annual meeting ballot also includes proposed amendments to SMECO’s bylaws. Bylaws govern the way an electric cooperative does business.

SMECO directors are part of the community.

SMECO’s Board of Directors meets every month to oversee the operations of the Cooperative.

Directors are SMECO members, and they come from all walks of life.

Directors attend training sessions provided by the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA), which serves about 900 electric cooperatives nationwide. Through NRECA, electric cooperatives across the country have built a strong network of like-minded organizations that put their members first.

As a cooperative, SMECO will always put its members first—the power you can count on.

SMECO was incorporated in 1937 and is one of the 15 largest and strongest electric cooperatives in the United States with more than 165,000 member accounts in Charles County, St. Mary’s County, southern Prince George’s County, and most of Calvert County.

At the end of each year, SMECO’s margins (profits) are allocated to members’ capital credit accounts. SMECO uses its profits to invest in new construction, system improvements, facility upgrades, and more. The Board of Directors regularly evaluates the financial condition of the cooperative and determines when members will receive a refund. Since 1937, SMECO has refunded $89.5 million.

SMECO Energy Rates

Helpful Tips

SMECO Spotlights